Wait’s Phoenix Contos throws Perrysburg’s Ryan Avalos to the mat Saturday at Perrysburg High School.

J.D. Pooley | Sentinel-Tribune

Perrysburg had nine wrestlers reach the finals of its own Perrysburg Invitational Tournament Saturday with six winning championships as the Yellow Jackets easily won the team championship.

All three of Perrysburg runner-up finishers lost by a one-point decision in the championship match.

Myles Takats won the 175-pound title with a 3-1 decision over Nordonia’s Jeremy Olszko and Wynton Denkins won the 150-pound championship, beating Medina Highland’s Creed Hill by 9-3 decision.

At 120, Perrysburg wrestler Marcus Blaze won by technical fall in 4:16 after building up a 28-12 lead over Otsego wrestler Trevor Wilcox, PIT runner-up.

Joey Blaze followed at 165, winning by technical fall in 5:41 after building a 25-10 lead against Wauseon wrestler Zaidan Kessler.

Perrysburg’s Jake Wood won a 157-pound title with a 4-1 decision against Tinora’s Aiden Helmke.

Perrysburg wrestler Ayden Dodd won an 8-1 decision over Genoa’s Scott Fuller in the 106-pound championship match.

At 138, Perrysburg wrestler Cole Evans lost a close 2-1 championship decision to Oak Harbor’s Owen Miller.

At 126, Perrysburg wrestler Ryan Avalos lost to Toledo Waite wrestler Phoenix Contos by a close 11-10 decision in the championship.

At 113, Perrysburg’s Alex Denkins lost another one-point championship decision, this time 3-2 against Napoleon grappler Alex Gonzales.