Carter elected to lead commissioners


On Monday, James F. Carter was re-elected president of the Wood County Board of Commissioners for 2011.
Commissioner Tim W. Brown was elected vice president.
The board voted to continue conducting regular meetings on Tuesday and Thursday mornings with open forum
on regular meeting days following regular business. The forum allows citizens to speak with the board
without scheduling a meeting time. The commissioners also plan to host Town Hall meetings throughout the
Commissioner representation on various boards and commissions also was reviewed during the special
As president, Carter, of Grand Rapids, will serve on a number of boards including the Toledo Metropolitan
Area Council of Governments Board of Trustees, Growth Strategies Council, Maumee River Committee and
Transportation Committee. He will also continue serving on the county’s Board of Revisions, Community
Corrections Board, Investment Advisory Committee, Financial Report Review Committee, Family and
Children’s First Council, Records Commission, and Solid Waste Policy Committee.
Carter also serves on the Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee for the County Commissioners’
Association of Ohio.
Brown, of Bowling Green, will serve on the county’s Automatic Data Processing Board, Courthouse Buildings
& Grounds Committee, Investment Advisory Committee, and OSU Extension Service Advisory
Committee. Other committee assignments include the TMACOG Air Quality Task Force (chairperson) and
Roadway Tree Beautification Committee (chairperson), and Erie Basin Resource Conservation and
Development. He was also named as an alternate on the TMACOG Board of Trustees along with W. David
Steiner, planning commission director.
Brown will also serve on a number of committees for the County Commissioners’ Association of Ohio
including second vice president for the Executive Committee, chairperson of the Commissioners and
Sheriffs’ Task Force Committee, Board of Trustees, General Government and Operations Committee, and
Joint Committee on Administration of Elections.
Commissioner Alvie Perkins, of Bowling Green, was selected to serve on the county’s Emergency Management
Agency Advisory Board, Local Emergency Planning Committee, Court Security Advisory Committee and the
TMACOG Portage River Basin Council and Freight Committee.
In addition, all three commissioners serve on the Debt Review Committee, Planning Commission, and
Community Improvement Corporation.
All meeting agendas are posted 24 hours in advance and can be viewed on the commissioners’ Web site at

No posts to display