State qualifiers: Perrysburg’s Kersten to compete in two events


COLUMBUS — Perrysburg junior Hannah Kersten qualified for two events in the Division I state track meet Friday and Saturday at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium on the campus of Ohio State University.

Kersten will compete in the 200-meter dash and with the 4×800 relay team. Joining her on the relay team are sophomores Ava Beeks, Natalie Sanders and Laura Valette.

In Division II, Otsego has three boys state qualifiers, including two in the pole vault — seniors Dakota Keifer and Carson Lathrop. Sophomore Nathan Strahm qualified in the 300.

Elmwood senior Jackson Childress qualified in the discus and shot put and junior Micah Oliver in the high jump.

Eastwood senior Bryce DeFalco qualified in the long jump and senior Dalton Hesselbart will join Keifer and Lathrop in the pole vault competition.

Eastwood has three girls qualifiers in the D-II state meet, including sophomore Leah Emch in the 3200 run.

Eastwood senior Olivia Newsome in the discus and senior Julia Sabo after winning a regional pole vault championship in Lexington last weekend.

Eastwood freshman Jenna Galiant will compete in the shot put in the seated events category.

Otsego sophomore Brooke Simon qualified for the D-II discus throw after also winning a regional title last weekend in Lexington.

In Division III, Northwood junior R’Emontay Coleman qualified in three events — the 100, 200, and with the 4×100 relay team.

Coleman is joined on the relay team by senior Montonio Baker and Alex Howe and juniors Santos Ayala. Howe also qualified for state in the 200.

Lakota has two state qualifiers, sophomore Braxton Quaintance in the pole vault and freshman Lucas McEwan in the 300 hurdles.

Northwood junior Breanna Bolden qualified in the shot put and in the seated events.

No posts to display