Perrysburg’s Ethan Johnson voted NLL Player of the Year


After leading Perrysburg to its third consecutive outright Northern Lakes League boys lacrosse championship, senior long stick midfielder Ethan Johnson has been voted the conference’s Player of the Year.

Johnson has been around good players, including his older brother, Lourdes University senior midfielder Nick Johnson, a four-year letterwinner for the Yellow Jackets and first team All-NLL choice.

Nick Johnson set the career scoring record at Perrysburg before graduating, scoring 152 from 2015-18, which is eighth all-time in Ohio.

Ethan Johnson is joined on the All-NLL first team Perrysburg senior attack Cameron Davidson, senior defenseman Xavier Rodzos, and sophomore faceoff specialist Zach Schroeder.

Bowling Green senior attack Evan Brandt, who will play collegiate lacrosse at the University of Indianapolis, which earned its fourth straight bid to the NCAA tournament this year.

Brandt owns all of BG’s scoring records and some state records and joins the Perrysburg foursome on the All-NLL first team.

Brandt scored a state record 14 goals in a win over Findlay his junior year, and also set the state record for goals in a season (105) that year.

BG junior midfielder Reece Rath is the Bobcats’ other selection to the All-NLL first team.

Also getting first team is Sylvania Southview junior attack Dylan Johnson and Southview junior midfielder Owen Miller.

First team defenseman also include Anthony Wayne senior Hayden Johnson and Sylvania Northview senior Ronan Cripe. Northview senior Reilly Cripe is first team goalie and Southview senior Seth Baden is first team faceoff specialist.

Perrysburg (8-9 overall) finished 6-2 in the league, followed by Southview (8-10, 5-3), AW (5-9, 4-4), BG (9-9, 3-5), and Northview (5-12, 2-6).

Perrysburg players getting second team honors include junior midfielder Trey Haney, sophomore goalie Nate Ettore, and junior faceoff specialist Alex Birch.

BG senior Andrew Kisor is a second team midfielder and BG senior Justin Becker is a second team defenseman.

Perrysburg third teamers are sophomore attack Jack Hammond, senior attack Evan Wolaver, and sophomore defenseman Brady Slawinski.

BG third teamers are senior midfielder Michael Kisor, senior defenseman A.J. Clemens, and senior faceoff specialist Matt Robinette.

No posts to display