Rossford post Derek Vorst named Player of Year


Rossford 6-foot-10 senior Derek Vorst, an NCAA Division I signee heading to Indiana State University, has been named Northern Buckeye Conference boys basketball Player of the Year.

Joining Vorst on the All-NBC first team are Eastwood senior Case Boos, Genoa freshman Walter Plantz, Elmwood junior Kade Lentz, Fostoria junior Jordan Ferguson and Rossford senior Jake Morrison.

Second team choices are Rossford senior Brenden Revels, Fostoria junior Machi Johnson, Genoa senior Skylar Ju, Eastwood senior Brady Weaver, Otsego junior Owen Weaver and Genoa junior Jon Huston.

Honorable mention selections from Rossford include seniors Garette Murphree and Brandon Swope, from Genoa include senior Griffin Meyer and junior Aiden Brunkhorst, and from Otsego include juniors Jack Simpson and Drew Gase.

Woodmore HM selections are sophomore Brady Thatcher, senior Jackson Everett and junior Luke Morris, from Eastwood include seniors Noah Smith and Tristan Schuerman, from Elmwood include senior Hayden Wickard, and from Fostoria include senior Aidan Sprang.

Rossford (17-4 overall, 13-0 NBC) will play at Genoa (15-6, 12-1) this Friday. A Rossford win will give the Bulldogs an outright championship, while a Genoa win will mean the Bulldogs and Comets share the title.

On the girls side of the NBC ledger, Woodmore senior point guard Macey Bauder is the Player of the Year after leading her team to a c9-championship with Fostoria.

The Redmen finished the season 20-2 overall and 13-1 in the league, while Woodmore was 19-3 and 13-1. Woodmore defeated Fostoria, 69-64, in overtime during thier first outing in Elmore, while Fostoria won the second game handily, 60-44, on its court.

Joining Bauder on the first team are Fostoria sophomores Lyrique Johnson (power forward) and Alycia Middlebrooks (shooting guard), Eastwood junior guard Kayla Buehler, Elmwood senior forward Cara Frank, Lake senior guard Elise Staczek and Rossford sophomore guard Scarlett Williams.

Second team selections are Fostoria senior power forward Garyana Overton, Genoa freshman guard/forward Addisyn Moritz, Woodmore senior wing/post Jordan Beam, Otsego sophomore post Samantha Lehr, Lake senior forward Mary Enright, and Woodmore sophomore post Kara Schneider.

Eastwood HM choices are junior guard Amelia Ward and junior forward Paige Hoodlebrink, Elmwood HM picks are sophomore forward Aubrey Johnson and junior forward Kate Keiffer, and Fostoria picks are senior point guard Jenna Johnson and junior power forward Karma Williams.

Lake HM selections include senior guard Jessie Materni and junior guard Sydneys Stanley and Elena Longoria, Otsego HM choices are sophomore guard Sophie Dimick and senior forward Lauren Hillesheim, and Genoa choices are senior guards Molly Coleman and Gabby Lopez.

Woodmore’s only HM choice is senior guard Alayna Hahn and from Rossford, sophomore post Madison Kutscher is HM.

No posts to display