LaHote will lead commissioners in 2023


The Board of Wood County Commissioners met on Tuesday and, as required by Ohio law, organized for the year 2023.

Commissioner Craig LaHote of Perrysburg Township will serve as president. Commissioner Ted Bowlus of Center Township will serve as vice president. The third commissioner is Doris Herringshaw of Portage Township.

The board will continue conducting regular meetings on Tuesday and Thursday mornings with open forum on regular meeting days following regular business. The open forum allows citizens to speak with the board without scheduling a meeting time.

As president, LaHote will serve on a number of boards and commissions including the Automatic Data Processing Board, Community Corrections Board, Court Security Advisory Committee, Local Emergency Planning Committee, and OSU Extension Service Advisory Committee. Commissioner LaHote will also serve on the Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments Air Quality Committee and Freight Advisory Committee.

Bowlus will serve on the Board of Revisions, Erie Basin Resource Conservation & Development Board, and Family & Children’s First Council. Other committee assignments include the TMACOG Portage River Basin Council, Transportation Council and Water Quality Council.

Herringshaw was selected to serve on the County’s Courthouse Complex Buildings & Grounds Committee, Records Commission and Solid Waste Management Policy Committee, along with the Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee for the County Commissioners’ Association of Ohio.

Herringshaw will also serve on the TMACOG Board of Trustees and Wastewater Committee. LaHote was named as an alternate on the TMACOG Board of Trustees along with Bowlus and David Steiner, planning commission director.

In addition, all three commissioners serve on the Community Improvement Corporation, Investment Advisory Committee, Wood County Planning Commission and Quarterly Financial Report Review Committee.

All meeting agendas are posted 24 hours in advance and can be viewed on the commissioners’ website at

No posts to display