Student solos highlight May bands concert Tuesday


The Bowling Green High School Bands present their May concert on Tuesday in the Performing Arts Center at
7 p.m.
The Jazz Cats will start the show with a piece written in the Basie big band style "The Good
Life" featuring Mickayla Thompson and Michael Shilling, both on tenor sax. Gordon Goodwin, a Grammy
and Emmy Award winning composer, wrote "Hit the Bricks" as a funky style selection which will
feature Logan Reynolds (bass), Shawn Layden (alto sax), Ben Wilhelm (trombone) and Levi Wick (drum set).

The concert band, conducted by Jeremy Sison, will take the listener on an imaginative mission of
espionage with "Spy Chase." Alex Shapiro, a composer noted for her creative combination of
acoustic and electroacoustic music, wrote "Paper Cut" to make the players themselves part of
the action with choreographed maneuvers that look as compelling as they sound. They also will perform
music from Disney’s "Frozen."
Two instrumentalists will be featured in the concert. Senior Jessica Crook will be featured as an oboe
soloist on a beautiful sonata written by Camille Saint-Saens. Crook will continue her studies in music
education at BGSU in the fall of 2014. Senior citizen Jim George will be playing a technically
challenging yet beautiful euphonium solo. George is a member of the Bowling Green Area Community Band as
well as other performing ensembles. He has been a soloist for several groups after retiring from band
directing in the Wauseon school district.
The symphonic band, conducted by Bruce Corrigan, will feature many students throughout their portion of
the program including Kayleigh George (clarinet), Erin Graves (clarinet), Crook (oboe), Justin Rumer
(trumpet), Luke Corrigan (trumpet), Tucker Pendleton (horn), Lilly Rakas (flute), Maddy Utz (trumpet),
Katie Baker (flute), Mickayla Thompson (tenor sax), Tevon Martinez (trumpet) and a few others. Japanese
composer Yasuhide Ito’s march titled "Solo una Volta!" is an incredibly fast paced march
featuring each section of the band. Other song selections include Aaron Copland’s "The Promise of
Living," and "Cakewalk" by Gottschalk.
As a tribute to the 27 senior band members, "Curtain Call" by John Wasson will close the

No posts to display