Perrysbug equestrians repeat as state champions

Team members of
Perrysburg’s state championship equestrian team include: Megan Moser (from left), Melissa MacDonald,
Sarah Recker, Nonie Booher, Bailey Bredenbeckcorp and Christie Lakis.

PERRYSBURG — The Perrysburg High School equestrian team took the state championship in the Ohio
Interscholastic Horse Association Division II .
The team faced off against Anthony Wayne and Tinora for the title on Oct. 4 at Vail Meadows Equestrian
Center, Oregon.
The Jackets had 151 points to 97 for Anthony Wayne.
Becky Kahle, a sophomore on the team said, “It’s great to win overall. We even beat the bigger (Division
1) team with total points accumulated.”
“We have strong, versatile seniors this year who have done will in a variety of events from pleasure to
contesting,” said head coach Joann Graham.
The team consisted for 4-year state champion seniors Sarah Recker, Melissa MacDonald and Christie Lakis.
Other team members included Bailey Bredenberckhorp, ERica Baumgartner, Amy Williams and Meagan Moser.

In addition to Graham, other coaches are Sarah McMillan, Linda Schwartz and Connie Baumgartner.
Any current or incoming Perrysburg student interested in the team for the 2010 season should contact
McMillan at (419) 874-6244.

No posts to display