Organizations: 8-05


Lakeside Federation of Women’s Clubs
The 115th convention of the Lakeside Federation of Women’s Clubs was held July 8-9 at the Fountain Inn in
Lakeside, with the theme "Keeping Our Convention Going."
Presiding were co-presidents Evelyn Bachman, Bowling Green, and Elaine Barth, Tiffin. Vice President Mary
Oyer, Wauseon, planned the programs.
The history of the LFWC was reviewed in the welcome from Kevin Sibbring, president of the Lakeside
Association, and in Detra Bennett’s presentation at the annual luncheon held at Hotel Lakeside. The idea
for the federation came from two members of the Port Clinton Literary and Social Club. In 1888 the
membership consisted of four clubs, growing rapidly as in 1896 the convention was attended by 484 women.
Societal changes have made for decreased membership. Today the federation has a membership of 25 clubs.

On Wednesday morning of the convention attendees took self-guided garden tours. Neil Allen of Lakeside
provided the afternoon program, telling about some of the famous people who visited Lakeside. His list
included several U.S. presidents, Eleanor Roosevelt and Amelia Earhart.
Jo Vernon of Bowling Green conducted a memorial service.
Members gathered at Green Gables, the Lakeside Women’s Club Home, for a tea hosted by the No Name Club of
Craig Ritter, a football coach from Defiance College, spoke Thursday about his church work with school
girls in Jamaica. In 19 trips to Jamaica he has taught girls sports, but most of all he leaves them with
the message of eliminating the word "can’t" from their lives. He believes there is hope for
these girls through education.
At the annual luncheon, held at the lakeside Hotel, Past President Jean Lanning of the Woman’s Club of
Bowling Green installed officers for the 2009-2010 year. They are: Co-presidents Bachman and Barth; Vice
President Oyer; Secretary LouAnn Newlove of No Name Club; and Treasurer Mary Etta Hemmerly of the
Woman’s Club of BG.
Area club members from Bowling Green, Pemberville and Findlay attended.
The 2010 convention will be held July 14 at Lakeside

No posts to display