3 from county named to All-NLL softball first team


Three players from Wood County high schools are on the 12-player All-Northern Lakes League softball team,
including Bowling Green’s Tayler Worthington, a repeat selection. The team is selected in voting by the
There are two pitchers, one catcher and nine other players, regardless of actual position, on the
Worthington is joined on the first team by Perrysburg’s Stephanie Messenger and Rossford’s Ashley
Williams. All three players are seniors. Messenger was an honorable mention pick in 2007 and 2008 and
Williams was honorable mention in 2008.
Springfield senior Lindsey Bandeen and junior Krista Haley are repeat first-team selections. Haley was a
honorable mention pick in 2007.
Also from Springfield on the first team are junior pitcher Ashlyn Michalak and sophomore Cailyn Cordrey.
Michalak was a second-team pick in both 2007 and 2008.
Rounding out the first-team are Anthony Wayne’s Dani Haley, a junior pitcher who was an honorable mention
pick in 2008; and junior Melissa Sigg; Maumee sophomore Mareshah Scott; Northview senior Bekka Apardian,
a second-team pick in 2008; and Southview catcher Shelby Schuster, a senior, a second-team pick in 2008.

There are five county players on the 12-player second-team – Bowling Green senior catcher Brittany Davis;
and junior all-position player Megan LeGalley, both honorable mention picks in 2008; Perrysburg junior
pitcher Kim Bryson, a first-team pick in 2008 and a second-team choice in 2007; and Kimmy Granata, a
freshman; and Rossford sophomore Cassidy Gautheir. Granata is the only freshman on the first or second
Southview has three second-team selections – sophomore pitcher Olivia O’Reilly; senior Amanda Schuster
and junior Carly Damman, a repeat selection who was an honorable choice in 2007. O’Reilly and Amanda
Schuster were both on the honorable list mention in 2008.
Rounding out the second-team are: Anthony Wayne junior Stephanie Baker, honorable mention in 2008;
Northview senior Katelyn Dobson; and Springfield junior Jesse Zappone, an honorable mention pick in
2008; and sophomore Patrece Gibson.
On the honorable mention list are:
Anthony Wayne – Sarah Bores, Alyssa Hoot, honorable mention in 2008, and Emily Kurfis, second-team in
Bowling Green – Rachel Irick, Kara Bihn and Amy Cress;
Maumee – Meredith Stanford, a first-team pick in 2008; Sam Robinson, now a three-time honorable mention
pick; and Kelsey Gladieux;
Northview – Ali Sayre, a repeat selection, Ashley Yeager and Aly Matthews;
Perrysburg – none.
Rossford – Crystal Briggs, Kara Sattler, now a three-time selection, and Jordan Gauthier;
Southview – Amber Dunlap, Sarah Haynam and Paige Borgman; and
Springfield – Fayth Atkins, a repeat selection; Emily Rockman, and Brittany Richberg, a second-team pick
in 2008 and an honorable mention choice in 2007.

No posts to display