Art-A-Fair winners announced


More than a dozen artists received awards at Art-A-Fair 2009, the Prizm Creative Community’s annual
juried art show, now on display at the Dorothy Uber Bryan Gallery in the Bowling Green State University
Fine Arts Centers.
The exhibit, featuring the work of 32 artists, continues through June 20.
The judges selected 12 creative works that were created in the technique or spirit of famous artists.
The art award winners were:
¥ Genevieve Guernsey, Claude Monet Award for watercolor "Hidden."
¥ Deborah Buchanan, Pablo Picasso Award for graphite drawing "Embrace of Life."
¥ J. Jensen, Georgia O’Keeffe Award for color photography grouping "Floral Fantasies."
¥ Annette Jensen, Vincent Van Gogh Award for literary piece "The Slippery Slide."
¥ Lloyd Triggs, Edgar Degas Award for pastel "Shooters and Peewees."
¥ Tamra Mielke, Mary Cassett Award for pastel "Self Portrait."
¥ Michael McWhorter, Michelangelo Award for plexiglass and found objects piece "A Martian
¥ Maricha Shubert, Auguste Renoir Award foril painting "Lemons."
¥ Harry Daugherty, Winslow Homer Award for watercolor and Ink "Galway Bay."
¥ Katherine (Kitty) Pattay, Ansel Adams Award for photograph "In His Glory."
¥ Ruth T. Koskinen, John Marin Award for"Gouache Studies,"
¥ Randy Bennett, Leonardo DaVinci Award for oil painting "End Game."
Harry Daugherty won the "People’s Choice Award," for "516 Grafton Street, Dublin."

Honorable Mentions went to: Deborah Buchanan, photo collage and mixed media "Innocence
Betrayed" ; Robert Krohn, welded steel and paint piece "Hidden Face"; J. Jensen, sepia
photo "Spring Thaw on the Maumee"; and Randy Bennett, oil painting "Jack Rabbit
The 2009 Creative Challenge for Prizm Artists was to create works of art using scraps, recycled or
unconventional art materials. The following artists were selected for the Green Awards: Darlene Krohn,
"Vanity," clay; Rosemary Yanik, "Lemon Dress," wire mesh and fabric; Robert and
Darlene Krohn, "Hanging Out," mixed media; and Katherine Pattay, "Threads of Time,"
mixed media.
Receiving Literature Awards were: Annette Jensen for "For Just a Moment"; Nancy Stonerock for
"Life Is"; Harley King for "Silence"; and Cliff James for "The
Wynn Perry, of Owens Community College, selected pieces included in the exhibit and Mary T. Wolfe and
Robert E. Martin selected the award winners.
Exhibit hours are Thursday and Fridays from 1 to 8 p.m., and Saturdays from 1to 4 p.m.
On the Net:

No posts to display