Otsego’s 1970 Lakeshore Conference champions honored


TONTOGANY — Before Otsego’s Northern Buckeye Conference football against visiting Genoa Friday, the school honored its 1970 football team that won the school’s first-ever league championship.

That team compiled a 6-1-1 record and was 4-0 ion the Lakeshore Conference, led by first-year head coach Paul Michalik and assistant coaches Al Euler, Bob Mustain and Dave Digby.

The team was ranked No. 1 in Northwest Ohio by a media poll before computer points and state playoffs had begun. The biggest win of the year was 14-6 over Ottawa HIlls in a steady rain. Several Otsego players played on both sides of the ball to make the season successful.

Among team members present at Otsego Friday were Tim Genson, Gordon Wenig, Dan Cocke (who later became coach), Steve Kendall, Jim Sears, Steve Conrad, Joe Ingraham, Marty Bernritter, Bill Bortal, Mark Genson, Bob Allen, Kent Vollmar, Steve Meekrer and film director Bernard Scott.

No posts to display