Perrysburg’s Schneider, Lake’s Soltis NHC Players of the Year


Perrysburg’s Cody Schneider is the Northwest Hockey Conference Red Division Player of the Year.

In league games, Schneider had 15 goals and 12 assists, plus he scored his 100th career point this season.

Schneider is joined on the NHC Red Division first team by Sylvania Northview forward Drake Symbolik, Toledo St. Francis forward Andrew Tucker, Northview defenseman Riley Ames, Findlay defenseman Nate Riegle and Northview goaltender Austin Nowak.

Bowling Green defenseman Easton Schick is second team All-NHC Red.

Schick is joined by Toledo St. John’s forward Declan Loisel, St. Francis forward Jacob Myers, Northview forward Benny Seals, St. John’s defenseman Maxwell Perino and St. John’s goalie Zachary Lojewski.

Myers is the Dunn Sportsperson of the Year, William Lowery (St. John’s) is the COS Sportsperson of the Year, the Northview hockey family wins the Ed Kretz Courage Award, Tucker is the Rookie of the Year, and Chris Varga (St. Francis) is the Coach of the Year.

Northview (21-8-3 overall, 10-1-1 NHC Red) won the league title, followed by St. Francis (17-13-1, 9-3), St. John’s (17-13-3, 8-2-2), Findlay (17-12-1, 5-6-1), Perrysburg (18-14-1, 5-7), BG (14-16-4, 3-9), and Anthony Wayne (9-23-1, 0-12).

Lake’s Clay Soltis is the Player of the Year in the NHC White Division. Soltis had 14 goals and 13 assists in league play and he is joined on the first team by Lake forward James Bickley.

Lake (15-5-1 overall, 8-0 NHC Red) won the outright league championship, followed by Clay (14-15-1, 6-2), Sylvania Southview (3-8, 3-5), Springfield (4-17-2, 1-6-1), and Toledo Whitmer (7-18-1, 1-6-1).

While Lake remained undefeated in league play, Lake was pushed to the limit by Whitmer in their final league game. The Panthers took a 5-4 lead into the third period before Lake scored twice to win 6-5.

It was the first time Lake had trailed in the third period in a White Division game this season. In all games, Lake scored an NHC-best 161 goals this year while allowing 76.

Also earning first team White Division honors are Southview forward Dan DeLucio, Whitmer defenseman Derek Bradley, Southview defenseman Sam Rogenski, and Springfield goalie Phil Smithers.

Lake forward Bailey Coe and Lake defenseman Ben Loomis are second team.

Other second team honorees are Whitmer forward Erik Kenney, Clay forward Ethan Van Hersett, Clay defenseman Xander Kert, and Whitmer goalie Lucian Rose.

Rogenski is the Dun Sportsperson of the Year, Daniel Beck (Springfield) is the COS Sportsperson of the Year, Tyler Winters (Springfield) wins the Ed Kretz Courage Award, Van Hersett is the Rookie of the Year, and Keith Hendrix (Springfield) and E.J. LeMay (Clay) are Co-Coaches of the Year.

No posts to display