Sports Briefs: 06-13-14

Links Lassies
Results of a medal play tournament held by the Links Lassies at Forrest Creason Golf Course: Flight A –
Kay Marten, low gross, low net; Flight B – Juanita Huss, low gross, low net; and Flight C – Pat Patten,
low gross, low net. Marten used the fewest number of putts.
Local athletes compete
A.J. Digby from Otsego High School, Eric Rine from Bowling Green Middle School and Abby Gase from Otsego
Elementary competed in the Thunder in the Valley Games in Saginaw, Mich.
The games were for athletes with physical disabilities and are similar to the Paralympics.
Digby set national records in the 100, 200 and 400.
Rine participated in 11 events, including track, field, handcycling, archery and air rifle. In addition
to his gold medals, he received the Junior Male Most Valuable Athlete award and the Lloyd J. Yeo and
Jeff Coupie Rising Star Award.
Gase competed in swimming, archery, field and handcycling. She set a national record in the discus,
received gold medals in her events and received the Junior Female Most Valuable Athlete award.
All three will be representing Northwest Ohio at the National Junior Disability Championships in Ames,
Iowa this July.
Middle school state track results
Results of the state middle school state track meet:
Division II boys: Eastwood – Dalton Andrews, first, shot put (42-8), second, discus (134-6); Billy
Barker, ninth, 800 (2:18.69). For seventh graders only, Erik Fertig was fourth in the shot (29-8) and
the discus (97-1).
Division II girls: Eastwood – Jordan Davidson, 11th, 800 (2:38.09), 13th, 400 (67.40); Otsego – Zion
Richardson, fourth, 100, and third, 200; Elmwood – Allison Arnold, fifth, 400.
Division III boys: Elmwood – Brock Reinhard, fourth, pole vault.
BG honors middle school athletes
Bowling Green Middle School recently honored the following athletes:
• Clayton Cook Award: Bryce Hoehner and Callie Scheier, seventh grade; and Brian Dible and Sarah Kerr,
eighth grade.
• Archie Griffin Award from the Ohio High School Athletic Association: Nicholas Jackson and Rachel Emans.