Perrysburg gets 3 on All-NLL baseball first team


Perrysburg’s Taylor Dimmerling, a senior shortstop, and Blake Schmenk, a senior utility player, are
repeat first-team selections to the All-Northern League baseball team as selected by the league coaches.

Matt Slocum, a sophomore outfielder, joins his Perrysburg teammates on the 13-player first team.
Anthony Wayne’s Mike Frank, a senior pitcher, is also a repeat first-team selection.
Moving up from the 2008 second-team to the first-team this spring are Southview’s Kirk Stambaugh and
Springfield’s Tyler Grogg. Stambaugh, a junior, was selected in the outfield in 2008 and as a pitcher
this spring. A senior, Grogg is an outfielder.
Rounding out the first team are: Anthony Wayne’s Josh Ward, a senior catcher; Devin East, a senior first
baseman, who was an honorable mention pick in 2008, and Anthony Meyers, a junior outfielder; Maumee’s
Ryan Williams, a senior third baseman and Conner Stanford, a sophomore designated hitter; Northview’s
Rudy Severhof, a senior second baseman; and Southview’s Mike Fuller, a senior shortstop.
There are five county players on the 13-player second team – Bowling Green’s Nick Rodesky, a senior
pitcher, and Joey Sickler, a junior shortstop, who was an honorable mention pick last season; and
Perrysburg’s Robbie Ostafi, a senior catcher; Zach Hefner, a second third baseman who was an honorable
mention pick in 2008; and Troy Mugler, a senior who is a repeat selection at designated hitter.
Rounding out the second team are: Anthony Wayne’s Jordan Schwerer, a junior outfielder; Maumee’s Nick
Gerschultz, a senior pitcher; Corey Kolbow, a senior first baseman, who was a first-team pick in 2008;
Cal Reese, a junior shortstop; Northview’s Michael Epstein, a senior outfielder, who was an honorable
mention pick in 2008; Southview’s Nick Kopfman, a junior outfielder; Thomas Stiff, a senior utility
player; and Springfield’s Tyler Rudolph, a senior second baseman.
On the 14-player honorable mention list are:
Anthony Wayne – Sam Fischer, a junior outfielder;
Bowling Green – Tony Dible, a junior first baseman; Joey Harris, a junior outfielder; Kendrick Lemle, a
junior utility player;
Maumee – Bobby Chapman, a senior catcher;
Northview – Jon Greer, a senior designated hitter; Zach Ryder, a sophomore outfielder;
Perrysburg – Kyle Szczublewski, senior pitcher, a repeat selection; Alec Schmenk, a sophomore second
baseman; Matt White, a junior outfielder; David Gordon, a junior utility player
Rossford – Jimmy Pitzen.a senior shortstop; and
Springfield – Tony Shepler, a senior pitcher; Brock Labelle, junior third baseman, who was an honorable
mention pick at second base in 2008.

No posts to display