New deacons to serve Wood County churches PDF Print E-mail
Written by Sentinel-Tribune Staff   
Friday, 30 August 2013 09:03
TOLEDO - Bishop Leonard P. Blair will ordain 17 men as permanent deacons in the Diocese of Toledo on Sept. 14 at 11 a.m. at Holy Rosary Cathedral, Toledo.
Four of those new deacons will be assigned to Wood County parishes.
Those four are Thomas R. Headley to Blessed John XXIII Parish, Perrysburg; Charles W. McDaniel and Thomas K. Wray, both to Saint Rose of Lima Parish, Perrysburg; and Paul D. Nungester to Saint Jerome Parish, Walbridge.
Since the early 1970s, bishops in the United States have ordained permanent deacons to emphasize the ministry of the Church in liturgy, preaching and service. Permanent deacons are considered clergy of the diocese and are men that do not intend to become priests. The new deacons will join 189 other permanent deacons in the Toledo Diocese.

Front Page Stories

Perrysburg expands laptop program
04/23/2014 | Sentinel-Tribune Staff
article thumbnail

PERRYSBURG - Teachers and students have successfully woven individual laptops into the [ ... ]

BG food pantry asked to leave
04/23/2014 | BILL RYAN Sentinel Religion Editor
article thumbnail

File photo. The Bowling Green Christian Food Pantry is seen Sunday, March 16, 2014. (Eno [ ... ]

Other Front Page Articles
Sentinel-Tribune Copyright 2010