Opinions
To the Editor: Mega dairies bad for cows, taxpayers
Written by Michael Stacklin, Portage   
Wednesday, 09 July 2014 08:15
I read with interest "Manure lagoon being emptied" in the Sentinel-Tribune July 3. First off, it is my wish that come July 22, no large scale dairy people will bid on the property auctioned, instead local grain farmers buy it and turn the barns into machine sheds. Let me explain why. These poor cows are literally milked to death. Normally a dairy cow would have a production life of eight years, CAFO cows are lucky to see three years production. As for the open lagoon being safe, think again, this is an open cesspool that has fermented the last three years. Think flies and maggots. The county has spent $260,000 of taxpayer money to fix the area roads traveled by all the large trucks doing business with this CAFO. I ask Wood County residents to drive down Rangeline Road to Cygnet Road and then drive west to State Route 235.That stretch of Cygnet Road is absolutely horrible. Again it is my wish that all these CAFOs go bankrupt.

Michael Stacklin, Portage

Last Updated on Wednesday, 09 July 2014 14:30
 
To the Editor: Citizens encouraged to read to get real stories behind politics
Written by Linda Bishop, Findlay   
Wednesday, 09 July 2014 08:14
Ever wonder why our two major political parties are so much alike yet divides us as to which party has the best plan?  And why the choice of presidential candidates has you voting for the 'lesser of two evils'? Do you question why the often called Main Street media barely reports on anything newsworthy? You either hear of major events on Talk Radio, Facebook, Twitter, or word of mouth. Even then you can't help wondering what isn't being reported. Have you ever wondered why regardless of who is in power, things never seem to get better for people and the downward spiral of America continues?
If you're yearning for answers to these and many other questions, you might be interested in reading "The Shadows of Power, The Council on Foreign Relations and The American Decline"  by James Perloff which I was lucky enough to stumble upon and read recently. You can reserve it from the Findlay Public Library or purchase it from the Christian Book Store in Findlay, Barnes & Noble, Amazon, or even E-Bay.
Though it was written 25-plus years ago, it explains what's going on currently and is a quick read. This timeless book is a real eye opener and should be required reading. You can learn of future political events by reading what the Council On Foreign Relations writes about today. If your library does not have this book on its shelves, please ask that it get a copy or two for the public to read.
Last Updated on Wednesday, 09 July 2014 14:31
Read more...
 
To the Editor: Reasonable debate needed on issues such as gun rights
Written by V. N. Krishnan   
Wednesday, 02 July 2014 08:22
You have made a significant contribution in your editorial "Middle ground for gun laws" (6/25) by setting the debate as it should be: "not ant-gun but anti-gun fanatic," and "even good things need limits." I would like to go on record as one who respects everything that is endowed by our Constitution. That includes the Second Amendment.
As a nation we cannot afford not have reasonable debate on vital issues without getting emotional though it is difficult to do. As a strong supporter of rights including gun rights, I cannot rationally support one right and oppose another in the same Constitution. But still you cannot abdicate to exercise your God given reason. Immanuel Kant tells us that we use only 10 percent of our reason and warns "Out of timber so crooked as that from which man is made, nothing entirely straight can be built."
Read more...
 
To the Editor: Hospital blood draw site should not be changed
Written by Carol Davis   
Wednesday, 02 July 2014 08:21
I saw the letter from Nancy Wolcott in the paper and would like to express my opinion about the closing of the blood draw center on Poe and Haskins Road. I am a frequent user of that service because of the convenience of parking and entry. Wood County Hospital parking is very difficult for handicapped users and even when inside the walk to your destination is long. The Draw Center staff have always been polite and extremely helpful in addition to the ease of parking and access. I think it is a terrible mistake to close this facility.
Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 2 of 59

Front Page Stories

Give me liberty ... and a fun camp
07/12/2014 | DEBBIE ROGERS Sentinel Staff Writer
article thumbnail

Cheryl Garlow shows kids how to write with a feather pen during Liberty Camp at the 577  [ ... ]


CSX moves on expansion, without government dollars
07/12/2014 | ALEX ASPACHER Sentinel Staff Writer
article thumbnail

The CSX Northwest Ohio Intermodal Terminal in North Baltimore. (Enoch Wu/Sentinel-Tribun [ ... ]


Other Front Page Articles