Opinions
To the Editor: Traditional marriage is God's law
Written by Mary Jo Thieman Bosch   
Wednesday, 19 March 2014 10:26
Marriage between a man and woman is God's law, not man's law. Therefore, only God can change that law ... not a king, a president or a supreme court. No one on earth can force a person to change their belief because a judge says so. That being said, everyone deserves respect no matter what they believe. The Bible tells us to love one another ...we don't have to agree or even like everyone. But we do have an obligation to be kind and respectful even if we disagree.
Early in the rhetoric about gay rights, the claim was that they wanted to be accepted, but it seems that now some insist on endorsement. Unfortunately this is not a realistic goal. Neither courts nor people can force approval. But that doesn't mean we can't get along.
Last Updated on Wednesday, 19 March 2014 13:34
Read more...
 
To the Editor: Snow ratings questioned
Written by Tina Shultz   
Wednesday, 19 March 2014 10:24
On yet another nasty winter day, I am deciding whether to brave the roads and go to work. I am struck by the fact that Wood County Offices are closed, yet the Sheriff feels conditions only warrant a Level 1 snow emergency? Meanwhile, Lucas County has gone to Level 3. . .
Tina Shultz
Bowling Green
 
To the Editor: Educators are shirking duties
Written by Phil Caron   
Friday, 14 March 2014 11:41
The biggest winter calamity is the educator's expectation of more entitlements for non-value added vacation days with no contribution to the education of our children. The "fleecing" of Ohio needs to be stopped by the special committee on March 11th after the Ohio House and Senate shirked their duties with obvious decisions with the best interest of the owners of the schools. There is more than enough time to make up the class time lost with a little creative leadership and not the homework "fluke" idea (homework should exist anyway). They should not be rewarded for not working and more willing to do more to prepare our children for the real world where real jobs are 50 weeks and 2000 hours not part-timers. This is educator welfare and the next thing they will want is food stamps, unemployment for the summers, and free cell phones. They always claim it is for the kids and they are right "for their kids." Just a few years ago they had 3 snow days, and then moved to 5 snow days, and now 10-plus days?
Read more...
 
To the Editor: Sheriff doesn't need weapons of war
Written by Brad Waltz   
Friday, 14 March 2014 11:41
So, "we" have an MRAP, for safety reasons ... The sheriff's department decided it needed a mine-resistant vehicle; it's fresh off the killing fields of Afghanistan. It's on loan "free" and all other expenses have been covered by the drug-seizure fund. The big boys over at DOD may want it back if our leaders decide to attack another country.
I take issue with war machines roaming our streets, and coming soon, flying our skies.
Northwest Ohio is not a battle ground, and weapons of war have no place here.
Nevertheless, this is becoming commonplace. There has been a steady militarization of this country's police. Gone is Andy Griffith, in is Rambo. Which is hard to understand because if laws create peace and harmony, then tens of thousands of new laws since the era of Andy Griffith should have, by now created Shangri La. Or maybe arbitrary laws don't bring peace, but merely create chaos, criminals.
Anyway, with very little research one can learn what impact these machines have on the attitude of those that use them. They, the anointed ones, don their black helmets with face shields, other black stuff to accessorize, then they get "re-educated."
Read more...
 
To the Editor: Science and Christianity are not enemies
Written by Rick Broughton   
Friday, 14 March 2014 11:40
I read with interest letters from Dr. Feeman and Mr. Jones on the March 5th opinion page. Each of them seems to have a basic misunderstanding. It appears they believe that science and Christianity are enemies. That is not the case. There are many outstanding scientists from the past and many today that are Christians. Science has helped us understand much of nature and has benefitted mankind in innumerable ways. It is not at all inconsistent that Christians would be involved in scientific endeavors or utilize the incredible information that science has provided.
The trouble regarding evolution is that there is much that must be accepted on faith. For example, microbiologist Michael Denton, an atheist, has observed, "The complexity of the simplest known type of cell is so great that it is impossible to accept that such an object could have been thrown together suddenly by some kind of freakish, vastly improbable event. Such an occurrence would be indistinguishable from a miracle."
Read more...
 
To the Editor: People should work together
Written by Herb Dettmer   
Friday, 14 March 2014 11:39
Any viewpoint or opinion can be "justified," with enough facts, near facts, quasi-facts or invented facts. Statistics are often used to back up theses "facts." But remember, liars figure and figures lie. Omission of pertinent facts can also change the result of any study.
The solution to every problem or issue there is always - always - some reason it won't work. Just check the "facts" claimed by some special interest group or activist group. Liberals and conservatives are both guilty of this. There is too much division in our country and too few people are working together to resolve these issues and problems. Too many people are demanding to be heard and trying to get laws passed to require or prevent certain behaviors so someone isn't "offended."
Solutions to the energy problem, climate change, gay rights, gun control and so many other "issues," which we face every day, are met with, sometimes numerous, reasons why or why not. Everyone has the right to his opinion and viewpoint. That is what makes this country great. But when the "facts" are altered or ignored to fit a specific agenda, it doesn't solve problems; it only further divides us into "us" against "them." We need to look at each problem and issue with honesty and maturity. That way we will work together to solve problems and truly will be a united people.
Herb Dettmer
Bowling Green
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 8 of 27

Front Page Stories

Voters decide issues May 6
04/24/2014 | Sentinel-Tribune Staff
article thumbnail

Voters will have the opportunity to cast their ballot in a variety of races and issues [ ... ]


Otsego approves strategic planning
04/24/2014 | PETER KUEBECK Sentinel Staff Writer
article thumbnail

TONTOGANY - Community was the Otsego School Board's common theme Tuesday night.
A new c [ ... ]


Other Front Page Articles