Niese to testify before D.C. subcommittee PDF Print E-mail
Written by Sentinel-Tribune Staff   
Saturday, 08 February 2014 10:08
WASHINGTON, D.C. - Denise Niese, executive director of the Wood County Committee on Aging, has been invited to travel to Washington, D.C. next week to testify at a hearing in front of the Subcommittee on Higher Education and Workforce Training.
The hearing, slated for Tuesday at 10 a.m., is entitled "Serving Seniors Through the Older Americans Act." It will be chaired by Rep. Virginia Foxx (R-N.C.),  and will take place in room 2175 of the Rayburn House Office Building.
The Older Americans Act (OAA) is the major federal statute governing the organization and delivery of social and nutrition services for elderly Americans.  
Since its inception in 1965, OAA has provided a wide range of assistance to seniors, including transportation, nutrition services such as "Meals on Wheels," and referral to home care, health, and social services.
Tuesday's hearing will provide members an opportunity to examine the programs and services provided under OAA and discuss priorities for reauthorization.
Also named to the witness list, along with Bowling Green's Niese, are Carol O'Shaughnessy, principal policy analyst with the National Health Policy Forum in Washington, D.C.; Lynn Kellogg, CEO of the Region IV Area Agency on Aging based in St. Joseph, Mich.; and Dr. Yanira Cruz, president and CEO of the National Hispanic Council on Aging in Washington, D.C.
To learn more about the hearing, visit http://edworkforce.house.gov/Components/Redirect/r.aspx?ID= 398482-30643903>.

Front Page Stories

Perrysburg expands laptop program
04/23/2014 | Sentinel-Tribune Staff
article thumbnail

PERRYSBURG - Teachers and students have successfully woven individual laptops into the [ ... ]

BG food pantry asked to leave
04/23/2014 | BILL RYAN Sentinel Religion Editor
article thumbnail

File photo. The Bowling Green Christian Food Pantry is seen Sunday, March 16, 2014. (Eno [ ... ]

Other Front Page Articles
Sentinel-Tribune Copyright 2010