Perrysburg wins NLL wrestling title (2-1-14) PDF Print E-mail
Written by By JOE SZYMCZAK, Sentinel Sports Writer   
Saturday, 01 February 2014 23:44
HOLLAND ­— Saturday the Perrysburg wrestlers were almost perfect.
The Yellow Jacket put all but one wrestler in the finals of the Northern Lakes League tournament. Mark Delas, a defefending champion, didn’t compete, because he is suffering from an injury and the weight class was left void.
Perrysburg eclipsed the record it set last year of nine individual titles with 11 this year, dropping just two matches in the finals
The result was Perrysburg’s fourth straight NLL championship.
“I wish we would have had 13,” said coach Sam Cotterman about his team’s individual champions. ‘‘So it’s going to be frustrating, but they both lost close matches.
‘‘I’m going to have to look at those two that wanted it and know how bad they wanted it and how hard they worked. There are bigger prizes ahead so they have plenty to work for.”
The standout performer was J.P. Newton (152). He became one of six wrestlers in the 52-year history of the league to win four NLL titles.
He pinned his way to the finals and using a single-leg assault he defeated Jimmy Jagodzinski of Anthony Wayne in a 19-3 technical fall in just two periods in the championship match.
“Since my freshman year, when I won leagues, it has been a goal,” said Newton of his four titles.
Rocco Caywood (182) won his third NLL title using five sets of nearfall points in the second period and a takedown in the start of the third period giving him a 16-0 technical fall over Cahle Paul of Maumee.
“Top is one of my favorite positions,” Caywood explained about his nearfall scoring. “Once I threw the legs in I just went to work. I wanted to be a four-time champion, but I lost in the semis my freshman year. Three times is cool.”
Kadin Llewellyn (195) opened up in the third period and decisioned Ross Lonsway of Springfield, 12 -7. Lonsway defeated Llewellyn last year for the title.
“I was trying to stay solid on my shots during the match, but I felt the upper body was there. I didn’t think about it I just went with it,” said Llewellyn. It was Llewellyn’s second title.
Three other ‘Jackets won their second title. Brock Jones took down Cameron Yates of Anthony Wayne seven times on the way to an 18-5 win at 126. Leo Romp made a seven-point lead stand up in his 7-3 title win at 138. Cale Bonner (285) scored a reversal in the second period on Kamal Smith of Springfield and it was enough to take a 2-0 win.
Perrysburg’s first-time winners: Khyron Vidales (106) pinned C.J Leffler of Springfield in 1:25; Moises Guillen (120) pinned Tanner Ruiz of Southview in 2:21; Josh Herhold (132) defeated Reese Isenberg of Anthony Wayne, 12-4; Matt Waltermeyer (145) defeated Jordan Donnie of Anthony Wayne, 6-3; and Dan Waltermeyer (160) decisioned Anthony Arroyo of Maumee, 5-2.
Also for the Yellow Jackets, Mario Guillen (113) lost to Seth Beard of Napoleon 5-3 and Chase Newton (170) dropped an 8-4 decision to D.J. Vaughn of Springfield.
Bowling Green brought home a champion when Tyler Jacobs (220) scored a takedown with two seconds remaining and defeated Hunter Topolski of Southview 5-4.
“I had to do what I had to do,” said Jacobs about his last-second takedown. “I saw the clock at three seconds, and I had to pull it out of me.”
BG’s Timo Anderson (285) defeated Seth Gerkin of Napoleon for third place.

Front Page Stories

Perrysburg Twp. man gets 22 years for rape, assault
07/25/2014 | PETER KUEBECK, Sentinel Staff Writer

A Perrysburg Township man was sentenced to more than 22 years in prison Thursday afternoon after bei [ ... ]

Otsego approves contract with staff
07/25/2014 | Sentinel-Tribune
article thumbnail

TONTOGANY - The Otsego school district has inked a new three-year contract with  [ ... ]

Other Front Page Articles