Limes, Gross named NBC players of the year (03-14-13) PDF Print E-mail
Written by Sentinel Sports Staff   
Thursday, 14 March 2013 09:07
Otsego's A.C. Limes and Elmwood's Brittany Gross are the Northern Buckeye Conference basketball players of the year in voting by the league coaches.
A senior, Limes became Otsego's career scoring leader this season and the Knights won the league title with a 12-2 record. Limes was a first-team All-NBC pick last season.
Joining Limes on the boys first team are: Eastwood junior Jake Schmeltz; Elmwood senior Zach Foster; Lake sophomore Connor Bowen; Rossford junior Derek Mack; and Woodmore senior Donny Bowen.
Foster, Connor Bowen, and Schmeltz were honorable mention selections past season. Donny Bowen is a repeat first-team pick.
On the second team are: Elmwood junior Aaron Arnold; Genoa sophomore Luke Rightnowar; sophomore Jared Rettig and junior Jayce Vancena for Lake; Otsego junior John Thomas; and Rossford junior Mack Miller. Thomas was an honorable-mention pick last season.
On the honorable mention list are: Elmwood senior Austin Hoiles; Fostoria sophomore Dominique Fuller; Lake senior Marcus Pierce; Otsego seniors Jerome Griffin and Ryan Smoyer; and Woodmore senior Jake Lewandowski. Smoyer was a second-team pick last season.
A senior, Gross helped the Elmwood girls to the NBC title with a 13-1 record.
Joining Gross on the All-NBC first-team are: Elmwood junior Kristen Curtis; Genoa junior Ciara Albright; Lake sophomore Jordyn Taylor; Rossford junior Julie Hotz; and Woodmore junior Allie Wank. Albright and Hotz are repeat first-team selections while Gross and Taylor were on the second-team last season.
On the second-team are: Eastwood senior Diana Bushman; Elmwood senior Brittany George; Lake senior Alyssa Shaffer; Otsego senior Jessica Roberts; and senior Alaina Mitchell and junior Courtney Morris from Rossford. Mitchell was a first-team pick last season while George, Shaffer and Morris were honorable mention selections.
On the honorable-mention list are: Eastwood senior Presley Weaver; Fostoria sophomore Julia Hampton; Genoa junior Katie Jensen; Otsego freshman Morgan Smoyer; and sophomore Mackenzie Johnson and junior Grace Weirich from Woodmore.

Front Page Stories

Marriage not for everyone anymore
04/18/2014 | KAREN NADLER COTA, Sentinel Lifestyles Editor
article thumbnail

Dr. Gary Lee speaking at BGSU Thursday evening. (Photo: Shane Hughes/Sentinel-Tribune)
 [ ... ]

ReadyCare moving to BGSU site
04/18/2014 | ALEX ASPACHER, Sentinel Staff Writer
article thumbnail

New patients will be matriculating at the Falcon Health Center next month.
Wood C [ ... ]

Other Front Page Articles