Bobcat girl bowlers win sectional (2-22-14) PDF Print E-mail
Written by Sentinel-Tribune   
Monday, 24 February 2014 09:50
The Bowling Green High School girls bowling team dominated the 11-team field and ran away with the Division I sectional championship on Saturday at Star Lanes of the Harbor in Port Clinton.
The Bobcats had the top two individuals and five of the top eight bowlers.
BG's Alisha Noon and Gabriella Calderon were the top two bowlers in Port Clinton as Noon shot a 204 high game in her 536 series. Calderon started slow but finished with a flourish rolling a final game of 253 for her 527 set, tying for second overall. Rounding out the team scoring was Kyra Beeker tied for fourth at 525; Kristen Knell, 512 in seventh and Kelsey Parker with 510 in eighth.
The Bobcats had the three highest team games of the event as they took the early lead, rolling games of 853, 848 and 909 for a 2,610. BG added 1,051 for the six Baker games for the 3,661 total, 558 pins better Marion Harding at 3,103.
Perrysburg was led by Cheyenne Kolezynski with a 442 series as the Yellow Jackets finished at 2,661.
In Lima, Eastwood's Hannah Cook and Rossford's Mason Robinson advanced to the state tournament from the Division II district at Westgate Lanes.
Cook bowled games of 179 and 235 for her 564 total, second best in the field. Teammate Kat Przybylski bowled a consistent set of 516 with a 179 high game.
The Eagles were fifth with a 3,253 total. The top four teams advance to the state.
Robinson finished second individually with games of 218 and 242 in his 640 set, to be one of the three individuals to qualify for state from a non-advancing team.
Rossford totaled 3,738, for fourth place, bur only the top three teams advanced.
Robinson will bowl Friday in the Division II state finals.
Cook will bowl Saturday morning in the girls event.
The state event will be held at Wayne Webb's Columbus Bowl, 3224 South High Street, Columbus.
Both the Bobcat boys and girls teams will bowl on Saturday in the district finals at Lex Lanes in Lexington. The top team of the four finalists in each division will advance to state the final weekend.
Last Updated on Monday, 24 February 2014 18:07

Front Page Stories

Perrysburg Twp. man gets 22 years for rape, assault
07/25/2014 | PETER KUEBECK, Sentinel Staff Writer

A Perrysburg Township man was sentenced to more than 22 years in prison Thursday afternoon after bei [ ... ]

Otsego approves contract with staff
07/25/2014 | Sentinel-Tribune
article thumbnail

TONTOGANY - The Otsego school district has inked a new three-year contract with  [ ... ]

Other Front Page Articles