AP Racing News

6 from county on NLL soccer first-team (11-19-13) PDF Print E-mail
Written by Sentinel Sports Staff   
Tuesday, 19 November 2013 10:46
Six players from Wood County high schools earned first-team All-Northern Lakes League honors for soccer.
Bowling Green's Brian LeGalley, and Perrysburg's Albert Damsi and Zak Miller are on the boys first-team. LaGalley was a third-team pick last season.
Bowling Green's Olivia Stimmel, and Perrysburg's Allex Brown and Lucy Walton are on the girls first-team. Stimmel is a repeat first-team pick, while Brown and Walton were on the 2012 second-team.
On the boys second-team are BG's Nathan Sell, and Perrysburg's Stephen Beaujean and Tyler Wenzelman.
On the girls second-team are BG's Brittany Lowe, and Perrysburg's Lindy DeLong and Josie Fowler.
On the boys third-team are BG's Kevin Connel, and Perrysburg's Michael Bosworth and Logan Giesige.
On the girls third-team are Hope Teggart from Bowling Green and Andrea Wertz and Addison Young from Perrysburg. Teggart is a repeat third-team selection.
Northview goalie John Wendt was the NLL boys player of the year.
Also on the 11-player boys first-team are: Anthony Wayne's Ben Conklin and J.J. Fortner; Maumee's Alex Wagener; Northview's Erik Massey; Southview's Ismeal Gad; and Springfield's Alex Lucio and Jalen Shorter. Wendt, Conklin, and Wagener are repeat first-team picks. Fortner and Shorter were on the second-team in 2012, while Massey and Damsi were third-team picks.
Also on the 12-player  boys second-team are: Anthony Wayne's Grant Oliver and A J Witte, both third-team picks last season; Maumee's Mike Reese; Napoleon's Tyler Zachrich; Northview's Ben Haselhuhn and Jake Koback; Southview's Keith Dona, and Springfield's Nick Yeager and Tommy Kleinfelter.
Rounding out the boys 12-player third-team are: Anthony Wayne's Zach Harris and Phillip Reed; Maumee's Andy Stead and Sam Reid; Napoleon's Robbie Dietrich; Northview's Matt Bules and Aerin West; Southview's Kenan Newbold; and Springfeild's Josh Siers. Reid and Dietrich were repeat third-team picks.
Anthony Wayne's Abby Allen and Southview's Bethany Thomas are the girls co-players of the year.
Rounding out the 13-player first-team are: Anthony Wayne's Susan Nutter and Taylor Hill; Maumee's Maddy Woolford and Erica Tullis; Napoleon's Mason Shepard; Northview's Erin Bishop and Emma Scanes; and Springfield's Laney Takata. Nutter, Hill, Woolford, and Thomas are repeat 2012 first-team picks Allen, Tullis, and Bishop were second-team picks last season, and Scanes was a third-team pick.
Also on the 11-player second-team are: Anthony Wayne's Chloe Brown and Katelyn Bixler; Maumee's Olivia Dameron, Northview's Emily Felser and Shaylee Strauss; Southview's Lauren Micham and Sophie Asah; and Springfield's Hope Geirger. Brown was a second-team pick last season, and Asah was on the third-team.
Also on the 11-player third-team are: Anthony Wayne's Jessie Mattimore and Sarah Petrell; Maumee's Brynn Sautter; Napoleon's Beth Homan; Northview's Megan Kupetz; Southview's Erika Berkowitz; and Springfield's Chandler Ortman and Erica Myers.

Front Page Stories

Body of BGSU student found
07/23/2014 | Sentinel-Tribune Staff
article thumbnail

A missing poster for Cory Barron, is posted on a light pole along West 6th Street in Cle [ ... ]

Chinese lanterns may have ignited fire
07/23/2014 | PETER KUEBECK, Sentinel Staff Writer
article thumbnail

File photo. A firefighter is seen near a fire engulfing a pallet yard on West Broadway S [ ... ]

Other Front Page Articles