BG pool makes big splash in contest PDF Print E-mail
Written by HAROLD BROWN Sentinel City Editor   
Tuesday, 05 November 2013 12:05
The Ohio Parks and Recreation Association has named the Bowling Green City Pool and Waterpark as a First Place Award winner in the Facility Category of its 2013 Awards of Excellence program.
The award is in a category for projects costing more than $2.5 million.
Director of Parks and Recreation Dr. Michelle Grigore informed city council of the award Monday night, just hours after receiving notice from the OPRA, which is based in Westerville.
"The tremendous community support for the project is the reason we received this award," Grigore told council.
"Your leadership on this project was very important in the city receiving this award," At-Large Council Member Bruce Edwards said.
Grigore said the award will be presented Feb. 4, 2014, at a banquet hosted by the association at the Kalahari Conference Center in Sandusky. One first place award will receive the 2014 Governor's Award for Parks and Recreation, a "best-in-show" award, which includes a $500 contribution to the parks and recreation foundation of the agency winner.
The pool, which opened in mid-June, culminated a seven-year effort to replace what became a 50-year-old facility. The $4 million project was financed by a 20-year bond issue approved by voters in March, 2012.
The ORPA is a non-profit, public interest group with more than 1,300 professionals and citizen board members working to provide quality parks and recreation opportunities in Ohio.

Front Page Stories

Perrysburg expands laptop program
04/23/2014 | Sentinel-Tribune Staff
article thumbnail

PERRYSBURG - Teachers and students have successfully woven individual laptops into the [ ... ]

BG food pantry asked to leave
04/23/2014 | BILL RYAN Sentinel Religion Editor
article thumbnail

File photo. The Bowling Green Christian Food Pantry is seen Sunday, March 16, 2014. (Eno [ ... ]

Other Front Page Articles
Sentinel-Tribune Copyright 2010