Otsego FFA members honored PDF Print E-mail
Written by Sentinel-Tribune Staff   
Saturday, 13 April 2013 09:04
TONTOGANY - Among the awards presented Wednesday evening at the Otsego FFA banquet were:
Proficiency awards
Two chapter members were recognized with special proficiency awards sponsored by local groups. Ben Thomas was recognized as the  2013 Chapter Agricultural Mechanics Proficiency winner with the Earl R. Whitmer Memorial Ag. Mechanics Award. Whitmer was a self-employed blacksmith in the village of Tontogany for 41 years. He also did welding and repair work for area farmers.  
Allen Limes received the Soil and Water Conservation proficiency sponsored by the Wood County S&W District.
Thomas also earned the Ag Processing and Forage Production proficiency awards, Limes earned five additional proficiency awards bringing his total to six for the year. Limes also earned proficiency in Diversified Livestock Production, Forest Management, Home Improvement, Outdoor Recreation and Swine Production.
Earning three proficiency awards was Drew Baus, who was recognized with the the Ag. Mechanics Design & Fabric, Beef Production and Diversified Ag. Production. Bill Potter, similarly was recognized with three awards. Potter earned the Ag. Mechanics Repair & Maintenance, Diversified Crop Production and Fiber and Oil Production.
Potter also applied for a district proficiency in the area of Emerging Agricultural Technology and earned first in the district. His efforts have since earned him to be one of the state's top four finalists. He will learn his final placement next month.
Other proficiency awards were presented to Courtney Garrett  for Ag. Sales; Andrea Dubler for Equine Science: April Michaelis for Community Development; Alex Vollmar for Poultry Production; Kyle Wright for Turf Grass Management; and Jon Urmetz for Wildlife Management and Production.
Sales awards
The top citrus sales members with sales figures were led by Ben Thomas who topped his nearest rival by more than $500 as he sold $2,386. Each of the top five exceeded $1,000 in sales. Second place honors went to Alex and Mackenzie Wenig at $1,851.
The remainder of the top 10, in order are: Zach Downs, $1,742; Potter, $1,687; Emily McVeigh, $1,007; Karley Schutzberg, $946; Sara Caris, $937; Trevor Buehrer, $893; Aaron Roberts, $735; and Drew Baus, $726.
Metzger Memorial - $500 for Drew Baus
Dave Kellermeier Memorial - $500 for Courtney Garrett
Morris Wenig Memorial - $500 for April Michaelis
Otsego FFA Alumni - $500 for Allen Limes
Other honors
The Ag Credit 110 Percent award was given to Thomas for his ability to participate in nearly every chapter activity.
The Dekalb award was given to Potter. Given to a senior, it recognizes the member who has been outstanding in the areas of scholarship, leadership activities and agriculture experience program.
Academic awards
Honor roll recipients for the Agriscience I class were: Annie Barnhart, Colton Snyder, Caleb Baus, Haili Brooks, Cameryn Drain, Devon Gray, Mark Hendricks, Zane Maxwell, Alexis Nigh, Lexie Reiger, Alex Wenig and Mackenzie Wenig.
Agriscience II honor roll members were Caroline Battin, Sara Caris, Andrew Michaelis, and Andrew Wolfram.
The Agribusiness Management students making the honor roll were Brandon Bailey, Tayler Bowen, Arcain Burres, Emily McVeigh, Morgan Thomas, Savannah Schwind, John Thomas, Alex Vollmar, and Kyle Wright.
The Agricultural Communications and Leadership students recognized for their academic achievements were: Courtney Garrett, Allen Limes, Jolynn Irwin, April Michaelis, Bill Potter, Tom Rodgers and Karley Schutzberg.

Front Page Stories

Lake Twp. raises stink over trash collection
04/16/2014 | DEBBIE ROGERS Sentinel Staff Writer

MILLBURY - A new trash collection company in Lake Township is off to a stinky start.
But representati [ ... ]

N.B. hires full-time EMS chief
04/16/2014 | Sentinel-Tribune Staff
article thumbnail

NORTH BALTIMORE - The village has hired a full-time, interim EMS Chief.
Following a 30- [ ... ]

Other Front Page Articles
Sentinel-Tribune Copyright 2010