Elmwood FFA at convention, 7 earn state degree PDF Print E-mail
Written by Sentinel-Tribune Staff   
Saturday, 10 May 2014 08:28
The Elmwood FFA recently attended the 86th Ohio FFA Convention in Columbus.
On May 1, 25 members attended the first session.
Chapter officers Taylor Barndt, Morgan Huff and Meagan Wise were recognized on stage for receiving a gold rating on their respective officer books.
During the delegate business session, Dylan and Garrett Benschoter served as the chapter's delegates. They were entrusted with the tasks of voting on state officers, voting on business items, and assessing the future movements of the Ohio FFA Association.
Also during that session, the chapter was recognized for its contributions to the Ohio FFA Foundation, CROP, and Children's Hospital in Columbus.
While at the convention, members had the opportunity to visit a couple of events taking place at the fairgrounds. One was the Ohio FFA Career Show, where members had the opportunity to converse with university and college representatives, and discuss future educational possibilities.
In addition, students had the opportunity to talk to business professionals about employment options within the field of agriculture.
The other event on the fairgrounds was a large alpaca show, allowing members to become more familiar with this species of livestock.
That evening, members attended the Magic Mountain theme park to partake in miniature golf, laser tag, go karts and arcade games.
On May 2, the chapter made a trip to the Columbus Zoo to observe a variety of different animals, and their habitats.
Following this, the group attended the fourth convention session, where several career development teams were recognized on stage for placing first in the state in their respective events. Those teams that were recognized included: Ag. Mechanic Skills, Greenhand, Outdoor Power Equipment and Grain Merchandising.
A final highlight of the convention occurred when seven chapter members received their State FFA degree. They included Treg Snowden, Angelique Franks, Dylan Benschoter, Katie Peters, Megan Hathaway, Ashley Veryser and Meagan Wise. More than 700 members from the state of Ohio were presented this honor, just 3 percent of the membership.

Front Page Stories

Perrysburg Twp. man gets 22 years for rape, assault
07/25/2014 | PETER KUEBECK, Sentinel Staff Writer

A Perrysburg Township man was sentenced to more than 22 years in prison Thursday afternoon after bei [ ... ]

Otsego approves contract with staff
07/25/2014 | Sentinel-Tribune
article thumbnail

TONTOGANY - The Otsego school district has inked a new three-year contract with  [ ... ]

Other Front Page Articles
Sentinel-Tribune Copyright 2010