Eastwood grad earns Sunrise scholarship PDF Print E-mail
Written by Sentinel-Tribune Staff   
Tuesday, 28 May 2013 10:21
FREMONT - Julie Russell of Pemberville, was recently named one of 20 area students to be a recipient of the sixth annual Sunrise Cooperative college scholarship awards.
Sunrise Cooperative announced a total of 151 students entered to compete for the 20, $1,000 scholarships. All students awarded are or will be enrolled in a two or four-year college program. Over the past six years, Sunrise has awarded more than $90,000 in scholarships, and is excited to continue the program this year.
Applicants were required to compete in a scholarship essay contest, writing a minimum of one page on the topic of agriculture. Essays ranged from describing how agriculture affects peoples' everyday lives to the importance of agriculture on our growing world population. Although the essay topic was agriculture focused, the contest was open to students of any degree, so long as they or a family member (parent or grandparent) is a member of Sunrise Cooperative.
Russell is studying for a degree in accounting at Ohio State University.
Terra Community College in Fremont reviewed the written entries and narrowed them down to 46 finalists. Each finalist was invited to an oral interview to discuss his or her interest in agriculture and future education plans. From these interviews, 20 students were chosen for the scholarships.
"Awarding some of our local youth with scholarships is one way for us to be directly involved (in the community)," says George Secor, President and CEO of Sunrise Cooperative.

Front Page Stories

Perrysburg Twp. Man Sentenced to 22 Years for Rape
07/24/2014 | Sentinel-Tribune Staff

A Perrysburg Township man was senteced to more than 22 years in prison after being found guilty Thur [ ... ]

Vigil set for BGSU student
07/24/2014 | Associated Press

CLEVELAND (AP) — A vigil for a Bowling Green State University student who was found dead in Lorain [ ... ]

Other Front Page Articles
Sentinel-Tribune Copyright 2010