Eastwood FFA honored its members PDF Print E-mail
Written by Sentinel-Tribune Staff   
Wednesday, 20 March 2013 09:52
PEMBERVILLE - Among the awards presented Monday evening at the Eastwood FFA banquet were:
Proficiency awards
Agricultural proficiency awards honor FFA members who, through their supervised agricultural experience projects, have developed specialized skills that they can apply toward their future careers. Lane Kemner was a double honoree earning the proficiency award in both diversified crop production and feed grain production. Logan Browne received the beef production proficiency award and his application is one of the top five being evaluated in the state.
Others honored Monday were
Equine science - Jonelle Nissen
Fiber and oil crop production - Kirsten Abke
Fruit production - Jarred Melcher
Sheep production - Garrett Tuck
Specialty crop production - Kevin Martin
Diversified agriculture production - Lane Kemner
Sales awards
The annual chicken barbecue featured more than 1,000 meals served on Sept. 21. This year's top seller was Kimberly Eschedor. The second place award belongs to Liz Hirzel, and the third place award goes to Kirsten Ameling.
Another one of the chapter's largest fundraisers is the annual Citrus Sale. Members sell fruit, meats, nuts, and popcorn to friends, family, and community members during the months of October and November.
This year, the top three sellers were only separated from each other by a total of $24. This is the closest it has been in years, showing the great work of all the members. All three of the top salesmen sold more than $1,600 worth of fruit and other items each.
The top salesman is Kirsten Abke. Only $8 behind in second place was Stephanie Dippman. Only $16 behind her was Kellie Recker in third place.
The following scholarships will be forwarded to the students at the end of the school year after graduation occurs and their selection of a college has been made. The one exception is the Eastwood Four-Year FFA scholarship is presented after the graduating senior completes the first semester of classes.
Mitch Aring Memorial - $500 for Kirsten Abke
Grover Memorial - $275 each for Diana Bushman and Kevin Martin
Jim Eckel Memorial - $150 for Stephanie Dippman
Eastwood FFA 2000 - $124 for Kellie Recker
Clarence C. Spoerl Memorial - $100 for Jarred Melcher
Eastwood Four-Year FFA - $100 each for Brock Abke, Kirsten Abke, Derick Buchman, Diana Bushman, Stephanie Dippman, John Krock, Kevin Martin, Jarred Melcher, Jason Slaughterbeck and Adam Wolf.
Other scholarships and awards
Ag Credit 110 Percent award - $25 for Brock Abke
Wood County Soil and Water award - $25 for Garrett Tuck
Washington Leadership awards - Grover Family award $197 to Christine Russell; and Eastwood YFA/YWA award of $25 for Josh Isaacson.
Camp scholarships - Megan Rolf, Kara Ameling., Haven Flores and Hunter Frobose.
Academic awards
Presented to those with a GPA of 3.2 or above.
8th grade - Kara Ameling, Avery Geisbuhler, and Becca Gorney
Freshman - Olivia Arman, Michaela Booth, Haven Flores, Hunter Frobose, Jaimee Hiser, Cody Kinor-Chapman, Sarah Parsons, Megan Rolf, Madelynn Rollo, Samantha Sanders, and Connor Wagner
Sophomore - Justin Carpenter, Harold Dippman, Hannah Frobose, Drew Henry, Elizabeth Hirzel, Madeline Kemner, Jonelle Nissen, Kaleigh Obrock, Abigail Sheldrick, Jesse Thornton, and Lucas Tuck
Junior - Kirsten Ameling, Logan Browne, Maddison Fix, Lane Kemner, Christine Russell, and Garrett Tuck
Senior - Kirsten Abke, Diana Bushman, Stephanie Dippman, Kevin Martin, Jarred Melcher, and Kellie Recker.

Front Page Stories

Rossford schools to put levy on fall ballot
07/22/2014 | BILL RYAN, Sentinel Staff Writer
article thumbnail

ROSSFORD - Voters in the Rossford School District will be asked to approve a new 4.49- [ ... ]

Custar man ruled not competent
07/22/2014 | PETER KUEBECK, Sentinel Staff Writer
article thumbnail

File photo. Thomas Boyer, left, is seen with his attorney. (Photo: Enoch Wu/Sentinel-Tri [ ... ]

Other Front Page Articles
Sentinel-Tribune Copyright 2010