BG's National 3-Star FFA chapter awards PDF Print E-mail
Written by Sentinel-Tribune Staff   
Tuesday, 22 April 2014 09:36
Among the Bowling Green FFA members recognized at its annual banquet were (from left) Justus Smith, Star Agribusiness; Ben Wilhelm and Amanda Barndt, both Outstanding Senior; Alex Wynn, Star Chapter; and Nolan Brennan, Star Greenhand. (Photos: J.D. Pooley/Sentinel-Tribune)
Hundreds of members, parents and guests filled the Bowling Green High School gymnasium April 12 for the 83rd annual Bowling Green FFA banquet.
Among the top awards presented to the members was the Outstanding Senior Award to both Amanda Barndt and Ben Wilhelm; Alex Wynn was recognized as the Star Chapter Farmer and Nolan Brennan as the Star Greenhand. Madalyn Fletcher received the Star Accounting award; while Taylor DeSmith received the AgCredit 100 Percent honor. The Soil and Water Conservation District award was presented to Tim Kleman.
The Honorary Chapter Degree was bestowed upon Alice Hackworth, Dana Wilson and Eric Leonard.
In her introduction, Hackworth was credited for her help to the chapter "whenever possible." She was said to have donated cookies for the annual tailgate, attending the events sponsored and even helped one year in the wood shop. Wilson also attends and assists with various events including judging the District 1 Ag Sales contest. She is also the secretary of the BG FFA Alumni and Friends. Leonard assists students to fillet the fish from the aquaculture system, he helped to paint the mural in the Ag hallway and offers guidance in natural resources and woodworking.
Beverly Anthony received the annual Blue and Gold award recognizing faculty and staff for their assistance to the chapter. She was called a "friend and strong advocate."
Spirit awards are presented to one male and one female from each class for their enthusiasm displayed throughout the year. The seniors recognized were Dylan Hunt and Haley Yarnell; Allie Smith and Mitch Cromley earned the award for the juniors; Haley Davis and T.J. Hart were the sophomores recognized; while the freshman class members recognized were Noah Nietz and Jenna Teet.
Among the Bowling Green FFA members recognized at its annual banquet were (from left) Madalyn Fletcher, Star Accounting award; Taylor DeSmith, AgCredit 110 Percent award and Tim Kleman, Wood Soil and Water Conservation District award.
The adults honored at the Bowling Green FFA annual banquet were (from left) Alice Hackworth, Eric Leonard and Dana Smith, each with the Honorary Chapter Degree, and Beverly Anthony, the Blue and Gold Award.
Mason Apple was recognized as the top salesman in the annual citrus fruit and nut sale with $2,848. Kinsey Kale, $2,604 and Jade Plat at $2,449 were close behind. Ben Wilhelm was fourth in sales at $1,670; while Nolan Brennan completed the top five at $1,562.
Among the year's top highlights recognized was the chapter being recognized as a National Three-Star Chapter award winner. Numerous other state, district and county award winners were recognized.
During the banquet nearly $1,500 was raised through the silent auction organized by the alumni group.
The 2014-15 officer team was installed with Mason Apple as the president; Steven Speck, vice president; Ashley Baden, secretary; Nathan Morlock, treasurer; Isabella Eschedor, reporter; Mitch Cromley, Sentinel and Matthew Galliger, student advisor.
Proficiency Awards
Proficiency awards are designed to recognize students for excelling in their SAEs. Students must complete their record books, and a lengthy application for these awards. There are two categories, entrepreneurship and placement. The former group involves the students operating their own business through labor or production; while the latter is for their work and labor with a farm or business.
Entrepreneurship awards were presented to: Jacob Keller, ag mechanics energy systems; Kinsey Kale, beef production; Isabella Eschedor, dairy production; Henry Apple, diversified crop production; Haley Davis, diversified livestock production; Jenna Grames, equine science; Steven Speck, fiber and oil crop production; Alex Wynn, grain production; Susan Johnson, landscape management; Mitch Cromley, nursery operations; Amanda Barndt, sheep production, Hailey Clifford specialty crop production; Nathan Morlock, swine production; and Madalyn Fletcher, vegetable production.
The placement awards were presented to: Connor Senn, agricultural communications; Taylor DeSmith, agricultural mechanics design and fabrication; Michael Calcamuggio, agricultural mechanics repair and maintenance; Dylan Hunt agricultural sales; Justus Smith, agricultural services; Rosa Bowen, beef production; Shelby Bechstein, dairy production; Ben Wilhelm, diversified agricultural production; Mason Apple, diversified crop production; Ashley Baden, diversified livestock production; Lauren Rosendale, equine science; Josh Nietz, grain production; Courtney Wagner, home/community development; Andrew Hoverson, landscape management; Tim Kleman, outdoor recreation; and Matthew Galliger, swine production.
Last Updated on Tuesday, 22 April 2014 11:43

Front Page Stories

Perrysburg Twp. man gets 22 years for rape, assault
07/25/2014 | PETER KUEBECK, Sentinel Staff Writer

A Perrysburg Township man was sentenced to more than 22 years in prison Thursday afternoon after bei [ ... ]

Otsego approves contract with staff
07/25/2014 | Sentinel-Tribune
article thumbnail

TONTOGANY - The Otsego school district has inked a new three-year contract with  [ ... ]

Other Front Page Articles
Sentinel-Tribune Copyright 2010