Perrysburg Schools earn SOAR Award PDF Print E-mail
Written by Sentinel-Tribune Staff   
Saturday, 07 December 2013 09:23
PERRYSBURG - Battelle for Kids recently presented Perrysburg School District with a 2013 SOAR Award for High Progress in the Significant Progress District category.
To achieve this recognition, Perrysburg had to be among the top districts of all participating SOAR districts, based on district composite index. Grades 4-8 math and reading data is included in this analysis and must show average or above average growth.
These annual awards are designed to acknowledge Ohio schools and districts participating in SOAR, Battelle for Kids' school improvement collaborative, for their academic progress in multiple grade levels and subjects over the last school year (2012-2013).
In 2002, Battelle for Kids launched SOAR-a statewide pilot to introduce value-added analysis to participating Ohio school districts and demonstrate how information can improve teachers' and schools' impact on student learning.  
Battelle for Kids is a national, not-for-profit organization that provides strategic counsel and innovative solutions for today's complex educational-improvement challenges. The organization partners with state departments of education, school districts and education-focused organizations to advance the shared goals of: improving teaching effectiveness and student progress; informing instructional practice in real time; recognizing and rewarding teaching excellence; and aligning goals and maximizing impact in schools.

Front Page Stories

'Actors' lap up stardom
04/19/2014 | DAVID DUPONT Sentinel Arts & Entertainment Editor
article thumbnail

Margot (performed by Madison Zavitz) interacts with Bruiser (performed by Nugget). (Enoc [ ... ]

Elmwood graduate Trevor Lee shares his Yosemite experience
04/19/2014 | JORDAN CRAVENS Sentinel Staff Writer
article thumbnail

Trevor Lee has traveled to 40 states, and most recently spent 10 months at Yosemite Nati [ ... ]

Other Front Page Articles
Sentinel-Tribune Copyright 2010