Bower to preside on North Central council PDF Print E-mail
Written by Sentinel-Tribune Staff   
Saturday, 26 October 2013 08:20
Mike Bower, Ph.D., president of Owens Community College, has been elected president of the Council of North Central Two-Year Colleges, a 19-state organization with over 349 institutional members.
It is the second largest organization of two-year colleges in the United States.
"To be asked to serve in this position is a privilege," said Bower. "Presiding over this council will help positions Owens as a leading institution, on a regional and national stage, in the collaboration with other two-year colleges to improve programs and services offered to students."
The organization works with The Higher Learning Commission (HLC), the largest accrediting body under the Department of Education, in the promotion of standards, practices, and policies for two-year colleges in the North Central Region, which encompasses Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. The HLC accredits more than 1,000 institutions of higher education. Of that almost 200 institutions, of which Owens is one, are accepted into the Academic Quality Improvement Program (AQIP), an alternative evaluation process for organizations already accredited by the Commission.
Bower is the sixth president and chief executive officer of Owens Community College, and he began his appointment on July 1, 2012.

Front Page Stories

Perrysburg Twp. Man Sentenced to 22 Years for Rape
07/24/2014 | Sentinel-Tribune Staff

A Perrysburg Township man was senteced to more than 22 years in prison after being found guilty Thur [ ... ]

Vigil set for BGSU student
07/24/2014 | Associated Press

CLEVELAND (AP) — A vigil for a Bowling Green State University student who was found dead in Lorain [ ... ]

Other Front Page Articles
Sentinel-Tribune Copyright 2010