EPA gives grant for BGMS science classes PDF Print E-mail
Written by Sentinel-Tribune Staff   
Thursday, 12 December 2013 10:06
A $4,371 Ohio EPA environmental education mini grant will help local students continue learning science as they assist the Wood County Solid Waste Management District with stream quality monitoring and storm water management.
Nine projects throughout the state were funded for $35,192.
The grant to the solid waste district will provide sampling equipment to continue the 10-year program for seventh-grade classes in Bowling Green City Schools. Students report their data to the City of Bowling Green to help in select target priority areas for storm water monitoring and enforcement.
The project also includes a "Storm Drains Are for Rain" public awareness campaign that includes inserts in utility bills for 13,000 residents, medallions on 500 storm drains, a "Storm Drains Are for Rain" billboard contest for all Wood County students in kindergarten through sixth grade and National Geographic booklets on pollution and water resources to supplement classroom lessons.
Perrysburg Court Explorers go to state mock trial PDF Print E-mail
Written by Sentinel-Tribune Staff   
Thursday, 12 December 2013 10:05
PERRYSBURG - Four teams from Perrysburg Court Law and Government Explorer Post #2306 have registered to compete in the annual statewide mock trial competition.
District competition will take place on Jan. 31. District winners will advance to the regional competition on Feb. 21. The state finals are March 6-8 in Columbus.
The Ohio Mock Trial Program, established by the Ohio Center for Law-Related Education (OCLRE) in 1983, is a statewide educational program designed to allow students to become aware of their constitutional rights and responsibilities. It provides students the opportunity to learn first-hand about the law, court procedures and the judicial system while also building interpretation, critical thinking and public speaking skills. Students who compete in the program come away with a greater understanding of not only the principals our legal system is founded on but of themselves and the skills they possess. Students are recognized and rewarded for their academic and intellectual achievements.
Soybean Council offers 10 scholarships PDF Print E-mail
Written by Sentinel-Tribune Staff   
Saturday, 07 December 2013 09:25
The Ohio Soybean Council Foundation has announced scholarship opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students for the 2014-2015 academic year.
In order to ensure the future prosperity of the U.S. soybean industry, it is important that students understand the wide variety of opportunities available in agricultural careers. This scholarship program encourages undergraduate students at Ohio colleges and universities to pursue degrees in one of the many academic fields that support the future of the soybean industry including science and technology, economics, communication, education, business and leadership.
There are a total of eight undergraduate scholarships available, including six general scholarships of up to $3,000 each that will be awarded to students pursuing an eligible major.
Available to one undergraduate student pursuing agricultural business or communications is the $3,000 Farmer, Lumpe and McClelland Excellence in Communications Scholarship. This scholarship was founded to provide resources to young people with a passion for agricultural and business communication.
Otsego High School Honor Roll: 12-12-13 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Sentinel-Tribune Staff   
Thursday, 12 December 2013 10:03
The honor roll for the first grading period:

SENIORS - Sydney Davis, Marisa Dibartolomeo, Edgar Ferguson, Kristen Fowler, Cole Gorski, Spencer Gray, David Heckler, Michael James, Diego Martinez, Ashlyn Mikesell, Maxwell Miller, Jalen Myers, Lindsey Pauff, Savannah Schwind, Alexandria Stough, Benjamin Thomas, Johnathan Thomas, Sadie Vanhorn, Alex Vollmar.
JUNIORS - Haley Amos, Kylie Asmus, Caroline Battin, Mallory Beach, Logan Beardsley, Sara Caris, Phoebe Cheney, Olivia Cox, Justen Garmenn, Summer Lazar, Andrew Michaelis, Marissa Morales, Andrew Shiley, Gavin Spilker, Micah Swanson, Noah West, Andrew Wolfram, Trevor Zapiecki.
SOPHOMORES - Makayla Allgire, Gwenyth Amborski, Brittany Barnhart, Morgan Chambers, Taylor Gonzalez, Tyler Harroun, Mark Hendricks, Joshua Ignatowski, Olivia Jinnings.
FRESHMEN - Lydia Archambo, Colton Battin, Adam Euler, Alison Graham, Lauren Gray, Tayler Gunn, Paige Hoffman, Adam Lewis, Natasha Mackay, Kaila Miller, Shannon Weihl, Rebekah Wright.
Owens earns Military Friendly status PDF Print E-mail
Written by Sentinel-Tribune Staff   
Saturday, 07 December 2013 09:25
Owens Community College has earned the coveted Military Friendly Schools designation for the fourth consecutive year from Victory Media, the premier media entity for military personnel transitioning to civilian life.
The 2014 Military Friendly Schools listing honors the top 20 percent of colleges, universities and trade schools in the U.S. for exemplary efforts in embracing America's military service members, veterans and spouses as students and ensuring their success on campus.
"Owens Community College's Office of Veterans Services is extremely honored to be among the best colleges and universities in the United States," said Dr. Betsy Johnson, Owens vice president of Enrollment Management and Student Services.
"Our commitment to meeting the needs of veterans is unwavering and will remain so through our dedicated Veterans Services staff and our college as a whole."
<< Start < Prev 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 Next > End >>

Page 33 of 40

Front Page Stories

Voters decide issues May 6
04/24/2014 | Sentinel-Tribune Staff
article thumbnail

Voters will have the opportunity to cast their ballot in a variety of races and issues [ ... ]

Otsego approves strategic planning
04/24/2014 | PETER KUEBECK Sentinel Staff Writer
article thumbnail

TONTOGANY - Community was the Otsego School Board's common theme Tuesday night.
A new c [ ... ]

Other Front Page Articles
Sentinel-Tribune Copyright 2010